True professionals.

New Music School's faculty represents a fantastic team of world-class musicians dedicated to our students' success. All of our faculty memebers are real-world professionals with life-long trajectories and permanent dedication to their instruments. We find this quality to be fundamental in a comprehensive music learning experience, and an invaluable resource to our students because it provides a wealth of first-hand opportunities and growth potential.

In addition, as part of our institutional philosophy of commitment to our students, all New Music School faculty members are fully available and fully reachable at any time for questions, follow-ups, tips, and more.

We invite you to take a closer look at our faculty members and learn more about each and all of them.



Bass Faculty:


Bassoon Chair:


William Buchman
Assistant Principal Bassoon,
Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Clarinet Chair:

Clarinet Faculty:


John Bruce Yeh
Assistant Principal Clarinet,
Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Composition Chair:

Composition Faculty:


Augusta Read Thomas
Composition Chair

Flute Chair:

Flute Faculty:


Mary Stolper
Principal Flute,
Grant Park Symphony

Guitar Faculty:


Horn Chair:


Dale Clevenger
Former Principal Horn,
Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Oboe Chair:

Oboe Faculty:


Eugene Izotov
Principal Oboe,
Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Percussion Chair:


Vadim Karpinos
Assistant Principal Timpani,
Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Piano Accompanist Chair:

Piano Accompanist Faculty:


Mary Sauer
Principal Pianist,
Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Theory Faculty:


Trombone Chair:


Michael Mulcahy
Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Trumpet Chair:


Mark Ridenour
Assistant Principal Trumpet,
Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Tuba Chair:


Rex Martin
Tuba Professor,
Northwestern University

Viola Chair:

Viola Faculty:


Charles Pikler
Principal Viola,
Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Violin Chair:

Violin Faculty:


David Taylor
Assistant Concertmaster,
Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Voice Faculty: